Governing Board Information

  • Safford Schools Governing Board Meetings
    AGENDAS ARE POSTED ON THE FRONT WINDOW OF THE DISTRICT OFFICE, LOCATED AT 734 W. 11TH STREET, AS WELL AS ON OUR WEBSITE.  Click on the Agendas & Minutes link in the left menu to access the current board agenda and minutes approved at the last board meeting.
    The public is welcome and encouraged to attend Governing Board meetings. The Board usually meets the second Thursday of each month and all meeting dates are posted on the calendar. 
    Agendas for individual school site council meetings are posted on the front window of each school office. 

    The Governing Board is composed of five district residents, each elected to four-year terms. Members serve without pay. The Board is responsible for educational policies and financial plans for the district, within community resources. There are six schools in the district -- Dorothy Stinson School, Lafe Nelson School, Ruth Powell School, Safford Middle School, Mt. Graham High School, and Safford High School.

    To access Safford Unified School District Governing Board Policies please click on the following link: Safford Board Policies or click on the Policy Manual Link in the menu on the left. This will take you the Arizona School Boards Association (ASBA) website. There will be a list of school districts on the left of the page. Scroll down to Safford Unified School District. Click one time on the arrow to the left of SUSD and a list of sections will open up. You can then select the section you need and search for policies.

Board Meeting Dates

  • The dates for Board Meetings held the second Thursday of each month in 2019 are as follows, with the exception of March, October and December:

    July 11
    August 8
    September 12
    November 14
    December 12
    January 9
    February 13
    March 12
    April 9
    May 14
    June 11

    In order not to conflict with Fall Break the October meeting will be on the date listed below: 

    October 3

2018 ASBA Total Board Award

  • Governing Board members receive award Congratulations to the Safford Unified School District Governing Board for receiving the Total Boardsmanship Award at the recent 2018 Arizona School Boards Association Annual Conference where ASBA honors Governing Boards statewide! This award is granted to a governing board when the entire board has attained a predetermined level of training. Mr. Mike DeLaO, Board President, Mrs. Julie Cluff and Mr. Craig Hackett, Board Members, attended the Annual ASBA Conference and accepted this prestigious award on behalf of the Governing Board, Mr. Mike DeLaO, Mrs. Julie Cluff, Mr. Craig Hackett, Mrs. Diane Junion and Mrs. Shirley Turner Chaplin. The Board Members are to be commended individually and as a group for their commitment to education and their dedication to serving Safford Unified School District and the community.