• Newly Elected School Board Members Take Office

    Mrs. Julie Cluff and Mrs. Jodi McGinty were elected to serve on the Safford Unified School District Governing Board beginning January 1, 2021.


    Pictured below is Mr. AJ Taylor, Superintendent for Safford Unified School District, giving the Oath of Office to the new School Board Members.


    Julie  Jodi  


    Mrs. Margaret Vidales has been appointed by Donna McGaughey, the Graham County School Superintendent, to serve on the Safford Univied District Governing Board. Mrs. Vidales was sworn into office by Mr. AJ Taylor, Superintendent of SUSD, on August 18, 2021.



    Comments (-1)
  • Wappingers Central School District / Overview



    Call to the Public/Comment Cards must match an item on the current agenda.

    Per Policy B-2150, BEDH “Public Participation at Board Meetings”

    “Any individual desiring to address the Board shall complete a form (Request to Address Board) and give this form to the Superintendent prior to the start of the board meeting.”

    "Call to the Public: This is the time for the public to comment. Members of the Board may not discuss items that are not specifically identified on the agenda. Therefore, pursuant to A.R.S. § 38-431.01(H), action taken as a result of public comment will be limited to directing staff to study the matter, responding to any criticism or scheduling the matter for further consideration and decision at a later date."


    Comment Card Guidelines




    Comments (-1)

Governing Board Information

  • Safford Schools Governing Board Meetings
    AGENDAS ARE POSTED ON THE FRONT WINDOW OF THE DISTRICT OFFICE, LOCATED AT 734 W. 11TH STREET, AS WELL AS ON OUR WEBSITE.  Click on the Agendas & Minutes link in the left menu to access the current board agenda and minutes approved at the last board meeting.
    The public is welcome and encouraged to attend Governing Board meetings. The Board usually meets the second Thursday of each month and all meeting dates are posted on the calendar. 
    Agendas for individual school site council meetings are posted on the front window of each school office. 

    The Governing Board is composed of five district residents, each elected to four-year terms. Members serve without pay. The Board is responsible for educational policies and financial plans for the district, within community resources. There are six schools in the district -- Dorothy Stinson School, Lafe Nelson School, Ruth Powell School, Safford Middle School, Mt. Graham High School, and Safford High School.

    To access Safford Unified School District Governing Board Policies please click on the following link: Safford Board Policies or click on the Policy Manual Link in the menu on the left. This will take you the Arizona School Boards Association (ASBA) website. There will be a list of school districts on the left of the page. Scroll down to Safford Unified School District. Click one time on the arrow to the left of SUSD and a list of sections will open up. You can then select the section you need and search for policies.

Board Meeting Dates

  • The Board Meeting dates for the second Thursday of each month in 2021-2022 are as follows, with the exception of September, November, February, May and June:

    July 8th 

    August 12th  

    October 14th 

    December 9th

    January 13th

    March 10th

    April 14th


    In order not to conflict with ASBA and ASA meetings, and other scheduling conflicts, the following dates will have Board meetings on the date listed:


    September 2nd

    November 3rd

    February 17th

    May 5th

    June 2nd

2018 ASBA Total Board Award

  • Governing Board members receive award Congratulations to the Safford Unified School District Governing Board for receiving the Total Boardsmanship Award at the recent 2018 Arizona School Boards Association Annual Conference where ASBA honors Governing Boards statewide! This award is granted to a governing board when the entire board has attained a predetermined level of training. Mr. Mike DeLaO, Board President, Mrs. Julie Cluff and Mr. Craig Hackett, Board Members, attended the Annual ASBA Conference and accepted this prestigious award on behalf of the Governing Board, Mr. Mike DeLaO, Mrs. Julie Cluff, Mr. Craig Hackett, Mrs. Diane Junion and Mrs. Shirley Turner Chaplin. The Board Members are to be commended individually and as a group for their commitment to education and their dedication to serving Safford Unified School District and the community.

Mr. Mike DeLaO School Board President

Mr. Mike DeLaO elected School Board President
Mr. Mike DeLaO was elected and sworn into office as the Safford School Board President on Thursday, January 4, 2021. This will be his 21st year to serve as School Board President for Safford Unified School District.